The Word Unspoken (NaPoWriMo Day 12)

I have not been the best at keeping up with NaPoWriMo this month but as long as I’m writing more poems than I would have, I count it as a win. This one has nothing to do with the suggested prompt but I did take a couple ideas from the excellent page that they linked to here. Check it out for some good poetry writing prompts.

Earth and its overlords

look like fluffy clouds

to the sheep on the moon.

The word dominion was a mistranslation

I lived it well and still

happiness eludes me.

 

The strangest word

is the one that has been read

but not yet spoken.

The strangest path

is the one I walk–looking ahead,

behind,

one path over to the right.

 

Anywhere but here.

Anywhere but where I am.

 

How long did it take to fly all those sheep to the moon?

Can they see me?

Leave a Reply

